January is National Volunteer Blood Donor Month

It may sound like a vampire holiday, but I believe it’s important to raise awareness about the importance of blood donation and to thank our many donors. I’ve been donating blood since I was old enough (17, or 16 with a parent’s permission). Don’t get me wrong, I’m not overly fond of needles. But giving back, any way I can, has always outweighed my fears.

The nation receives about 40% of its blood supply from roughly 3.6 million American Red Cross donors. It goes to people of all ages who need operations and blood transfusions (not to the aforementioned vampires). That includes patients receiving organ transplants, blood transfusions, and chemotherapy treatments.

Just one donation (1 pint) could help save three lives. Plus, you get yummy refreshments afterward. Not bad for an hour’s work! If you donate platelets, you even get to watch a movie.

For more information on the donation process, finding a local blood drive, volunteer opportunities, visit our Blood Services website. There are also interesting facts about why we need blood (not in general, silly), how it’s used, and a history of transfusions. Don’t tell me I’m the only über-nerd who likes to know this stuff.

So…Gallon Club, anyone?

P.S.: Know anyone who carries a badge? Check out Battle of the Badges.

Leave a Reply

